No Man’s Sky: Explore Four Types of Star Systems For Rare Rewards


No Man’s Sky is full of features that are never really explained. One such feature are the four star system ‘tiers’ — ranked by color, only upgraded Hyperdrive engines can reach certain stars. If you’re following the Path of Atlas, or just chasing waypoints to the center of the galaxy, you might never stop at one of these lush star systems. Learn all about star systems with the guide below, and see what it takes to reach them.

This awesome little tidbit was discovered (and expounded upon) by Redditor Harvoification. They were able to identify the star systems, and did some digging to see what made each system different. Basically, we have them to thank for this new info.

Check out even more No Man’s Sky content:

Star Systems Guide – 4 Unique Systems

There are (atleast) four Star System types in No Man’s Sky. These types are based on the real-life spectral class process of identifying stars based on their temperature and color.

Each of the four Star Systems changes the likelihood of rare resource deposits or lush planets. There’s no guarantee you’ll find either — everything in No Man’s Sky is procedurally-generated — but you’re much more likely to find the types of planets listed below in each star system.

NOTE: The color of stars will appear in your Galaxy Map. Travelling to a star will take you to the star system, with the type of star at the center denoting what types of planets / resources you’ll more likely find. 


Yellow Stars

  • Spectral Class: G or F
  • Warp Reactor Requirement: N/A
  • Yellow Star Systems are the default Star Systems of No Man’s Sky.
  • Common to find barren planets.
  • Basic resources.
  • Black Holes / Path to the Center waypoints only lead to Yellow Star Systems. (Never Red, Green, or Blue)

Red Stars

  • Spectral Class: K or M
  • Warp Reactor Requirement: Sigma Upgrade
  • Slightly more likely to discover flora and fauna on planets.
  • Slightly more rare resources will spawn.
  • Not accessible through Black Holes / Path to the Center waypoints.

Green Stars

  • Spectral Class: E
  • Warp Reactor Requirement: Tau Upgrade
  • More likely to find tropical / lush planets with more flora and fauna.
  • More likely to find planets rich with rare resources.
  • Not accessible through Black Holes / Path to the Center waypoints.

Blue Stars

  • Spectral Class: B or O
  • Warp Reactor Requirement: Theta Upgrade
  • Much more likely to find lush planets with plentiful flora and fauna.
  • Much more likely to find the the rarest resources.
  • Not accessible through Black Holes / Path to the Center waypoints.

Each Star System is one rank over the other, with blue being the best and yellow the default. You’ll never reach these Star Systems if you only follow the main path the game offers you — going out and doing some exploration of your own will provide some serious rewards if you’re in the market for rare resources… or if you’re looking to find more weird and wild lifeforms.

Source: [1]