Destiny’s Next Content Expansion Release Date Unveiled


After a series of rumors have been spread across the internet about Bungie’s next major expansion for Destiny, Rise of Iron has officially been revealed accidentally. The information comes directly from the official Destiny website although the post has since been taken down.

Apparently, information about Rise of Iron was set to be unveiled during a Destiny live stream that would be taking place tomorrow. However, someone accidentally published the reveal early and luckily, Gamespot managed to grab a picture before it was taken down.


There are some juicy details about Rise of Iron, as the next Destiny expansion has been stated to release on September 20, 2016, for both the Xbox One and PlayStation 4. The post did advertise a trailer reveal although the link did not direct to any video.

Additionally, the official Xbox website has also published a page for Rise of Iron ahead of schedule with the expansions story description.

“Destiny: Rise of Iron is the next highly anticipated expansion to the Destiny universe. The wall which stood for centuries along the southern border of Old Russia has collapsed. Fallen mutants now scavenge the tombs of the Golden Age, and the plague they have unearthed in the wastes is more dangerous than even they understand. Join Lord Saladin. Journey into the Plaguelands. Learn the fate of the Iron Lords and stop the growing threat before it is too late.”

Furthermore the post has also made mention of what the expansion will include.

  • New Story Campaign & Quests
  • New Armor and Gear
  • New Weapons
  • New Raid
  • Maximum Light Increase
  • New Strike
  • New Plaguelands Zone & Social Space
  • New Crucible Mode & Maps
  • New Enemy Faction and Bosses

We’ll hear more about the new Rise of Iron expansion tomorrow during Bungie’s Destiny live stream and it’s possible to get more information regarding Destiny during this year’s E3. Regardless, we want to know what you would like to see in the upcoming expansion. Let us know by dropping a comment down below.