One Million Defunct Xbox Gamertags Being Released By Microsoft

Xbox Gamertag
Almost one million defunct Xbox Gamertags are being released by Microsoft, meaning you can now change your username to one of these titles. The announcement was made on the Xbox Wire today.

As ever, you’ll need to pay $10 or local equivalent to change your Gamertag.

The affected accounts all hail from the original Xbox and were never migrated to the Xbox 360 or Xbox One. In order to receive one of these Gamertags, you’ll need to have an active Xbox Live Gold account and at least one year of cumulative Gold tenure.

A list of the Gamertags is not being released but the names will be available for 24 hours on May 18th at 14:00 EDT/11:00 PDT/19:00 BST.

Many of the names fall under the following popular categories:

  • Proper Names
  • Pop culture references (Entertainment, sports, gaming)
  • Types of Food
  • Geography and Travel
  • Science and Technology
  • Math and Numbers
  • Animals
  • Some of the greatest inventions of all time

The change is best made via Xbox.com, Microsoft says. Xbox One users will be able to change on the console, the Xbox app or Windows 10. You can’t change your Gamertag on Xbox 360 through the console but you will be able to on the website or the Windows 10 app.

Microsoft’s Xbox E3 2016 conference is set to take place on Monday, June 13th and will be streamed via Xbox.com and other services.

What games are you hoping to see at the show?