Video Game Voice Actor Troy Baker Releases an Alternative Rock Album

The critically acclaimed voice actor Troy Baker, who plays main characters in games like The Last of Us, Bioshock Infinite and the newly released Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare, Troy Baker, has released his first studio album Sitting in the Fire, featuring the single “My Religion.” 

Written and executive produced by Troy, Sitting in the Fire was recorded in a cabin in Big Bear, California.  The album was produced by Johnny What (Eriel Indigo) and co-produced, engineered and mixed by Rob King (Red Delicious, Hampton Beats, Echo Park Social Club). 

“We didn't set out to make singles, we set out to make a record,” says Troy. “It began by deconstructing all of the songs, reducing them to their quintessential elements. That's where Johnny came in. ” Johnny What told Troy, "There's a place these songs want to go to, and you can't take them there." 

"So we stripped every song down to just its foundation," Troy says, "an acoustic and a scratch vocal, and built up from there."  Rob King noted "we wanted to really keep the record as raw as possible. There are beautiful mistakes all over the place! For the record, no Auto-tune or drum grid editing either, just good performances from great musicians."

Sitting in the Fire can be best described as a rock n’ roll offering with strong influences of early U2, INXS, Muse, and Jeff Buckley. It debuted at #26 on the iTunes Alternative rock chart and #137 on the top 200. At Amazon, the album also hit #1 on the Singer Songwriter chart, #17 on Alternative Rock chart and cracked the Top 100 at #93 with overall album sales.  

Troy calls the album “an analogue album in a digital world, and cites it "not as a collection of songs, but a true record in the spirit of the LP." He continues, "we used to have a unique, kinetic relationship with the music we listened to. You placed the 33 on the platter, 'put the needle down' and for the next 20 minutes just listened to that record. When that needle crossed over to the other side, you had to flip that record over and repeat the process. It was interactive and given the world I'm predominately known for, an interactive medium is something that interests me."

The tracklist is as follows:

1. Overture

2. My Religion 

3. Halo Eyes

4. Apparition 

5. Far Away (featuring Liz Williams) 

6. Intermission 

7. Sad Song

8. Like a Stone 

9. What We Lost in the Fire

10. Window to the Abbey

11. Afterglow

12. Epilogue (Will the Circle be Unbroken) 

You can pick it up here from iTunes.