The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Only Allows One Active Save

New save games will delete previous save!

The latest installment to The Legend of Zelda franchise has been met with praise by critics and fans alike. Nintendo had finally given players an open world to explore and plenty of things to do, but be careful, it seems that Nintendo has limited players to one active playthrough.

This discovery was reported by Polygon who alerted readers that if players opted to start a new game, their old save would be deleted. Obviously, for some gamers, this is not an issue but for families with multiple gamers who are interested in going through the title on their own, this could cause a bit of havoc.

It’s a bit of an oddity as to why Nintendo opted to limit gamers to one manual save on the game when past installments have allowed multiple saves. Furthermore, it would be interesting to see if Nintendo opted to make an adjustment by allowing multiple saves in the future.

However, there seems to be one easy workaround that was discovered by Polygon. If you own a physical copy of the game then gamers can create a separate Nintendo account on the Switch or Wii U. These accounts are free and it will allow the game to be saved to that specific account.

It’s not perfection by any means, but this is a workaround to allow multiple household gamers the ability to enjoy The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild at their own leisure. For now, Nintendo has yet to make any statements regarding a future update to allow multiple manual saves.