Gwent: The Witcher Card Game’s PS4 Beta Starts This Week

The free technical beta starts this Friday, March 31st.

Gwent: The Witcher Card Game is getting a free technical beta on PlayStation 4 starting Friday, March 31st. The beta is a 3 GB download and will last the duration of the weekend, from 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST on March 31 through to 11 PM PT on April 2 (2 AM ET / 7 AM BST on April 3).

You will be able to build your own deck and try out the tutorial before testing your skills against other players in online casual matches, according to developer CD Projekt Red.

The company says the purpose of the beta has nothing to do with balance tweaks, but to assess server capacity on the PS4. “The game is already run,” reads an official Q and A. It is also stated in the blog post that users will not need PS Plus to participate in the beta, while microtransactions are disabled until the release of the full game.

Gwent’s standalone game previously had beta tests on Xbox One and PC. It was first announced at E3 and is currently still in closed beta, which you can still register for if you’re interested.